Environment Days

‘Religious Heritage and Sacred Places’
18th April - International Day for Monuments and Sites

World Heritage is the shared wealth of humankind. Protecting and preserving this valuable asset demands the collective efforts of the international community. The International Day for Monuments and Sites (popularly known as the World Heritage Day) was created on 18th April, 1982, by International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) and later approved at the 22nd UNESCO General Conference in 1983. This special day offers an opportunity to raise public’s awareness
concerning the diversity of the world’s heritage and the efforts that are required to protect and conserve it, as well as to draw attention to its vulnerability.

The World Heritage list includes 879 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the world heritage committee considers as having outstanding universal value. These include 679 cultural, 174 natural, 25 mixed properties in 145 states parties.

For more information visit: http://www.international.icomos.org/home.htm

Countries with more than 20 Heritage sites
States Parties Properties inscribed
United States of America 20
Russian Federation 23
India 27
United Kingdom of Great 27
Britain and Northern Ireland
Mexico 29
France 33
Germany 33
China 37
Spain 40
Italy 43

List of World Heritage sites in India
1. Agra Fort (C)
2. Ajanta Caves (C)
3. Ellora Caves (C)
4. Taj Mahal (C)
5. Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram (C)
6. Sun Temple, Konârak (C)
7. Manas Wildlife Sanctuary (ND)
8. Kaziranga National Park (N)
9. Keoladeo National Park (N)
10. Churches and Convents of Goa (C)
11. Fatehpur Sikri (C)
12. Group of Monuments at Hampi (C)
13. Khajuraho Group of Monuments (C)
14. Elephanta Caves (C)
15. Great Living Chola Temples 12 (C)
16. Group of Monuments at Pattadakal (C)
17. Sundarbans National Park (Natural)
18. Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks (N)
19. Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi (C)
20. Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi (C)
21. Qutb Minar and its Monuments, Delhi (C)
22. Mountain Railways of India (C)
23. Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya (C)
24. Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka (C)
25. Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park (C)
26. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus) (C)
27. Red Fort Complex (C)

Natural (N), Cultural (C) and sites in danger (D)

For more information visit: http://whc.unesco.org/en

World Health Day 7th April 2008
7 April is observed the world over as World Health day and organized around a predetermined theme to raise awareness of key global public health challenges.

The theme for 2008 is ‘Protecting health from climate change’. This theme was chosen because of the risks that global warming and climate change are posing to personal health. 2008 marks
the 60th anniversary of World Health Organisation.

5th April National Maritime Day
The National Maritime Day was first celebrated on 5th April, 1964 to commemorate the sailing of first Indian vessel ‘SS Loyalty’ on its maiden voyage (April 5, 1919) from Mumbai to London.
The objective of National Maritime Day Celebrations is to create awareness about the Indian shipping industry and to underline its vital role in bolstering the country’s economy. The celebration
for the day starts a week ahead with the Merchant Navy Week that culminates into National Maritime Day on 5th April.

Theme for 2008 Maritime day is ‘Meeting manning needs’.

No comments: